TRENTON, N.J. (AP) — New Jersey voters are being asked to raise the state’s minimum wage by $1, to $8.25 an hour, and to allow automatic cost-of-living increases as 10 other states already do.
The state has about 50,000 workers who receive minimum wage, a number that doesn’t include those who get paid less because they rely on commissions or tips.
If the measure is approved Tuesday, the $8.25-an-hour rate would take effect Jan. 1 and put New Jersey in the top 10 among states in minimum-wage levels.
Cost-of-living adjustments, indexed to inflation, would take place the first of every September.
The Democrat-led Legislature put the minimum wage on the ballot as a constitutional amendment after being unable to reach an agreement with Gov. Chris Christie on how fast to raise it. The governor also did not support automatic increases.
Music NewsSTEVIE NICKS SAYS CHRISTINE McVIE WILL PERFORM WITH FLEETWOOD MAC
LOST “TOMMY” LIVE RECORDINGS WILL BE PART OF REISSUE
JAMES BROWN MOVIE IS IN THE WORKS